About the founders

Dr. Channabasava Pattaddevaru

Shri Ma.Gha.Cha.Dr.Channabasava Pattaddevaru

Shri Ma.Gha.Cha.Dr. Channabasava Pattaddevaru founded the S.V.E. Society in 1963. Born on December 22, 1890, Swamiji lived an impactful 109 years, dedicating his life to hard work and service to humanity and the underprivileged until his passing on April 22, 1999.

He was one of the most respected and honored pontiffs in the region, embodying his motto, "Work is worship." Swamiji was a true follower of the 12th-century reformer Mahatma Basaveshwara. His efforts extended beyond the Math, playing a pivotal role in liberating the Hyderabad-Karnataka region from Nizam's rule and promoting the Kannada language.

During the Nizam's regime, Swamiji displayed Urdu boards outside while secretly teaching Kannada in the Math and schools, providing free education, food, and shelter to poor children regardless of caste or creed. His vision to educate the people in this backward area led to the formation of the S.V.E. Society, which flourished under his guidance and patronage.

Swamiji was honored by the former President of India, Shri Giani Zail Singh, with the National Integrity Award. Gulbarga University also recognized his extraordinary contributions by awarding him an honorary Doctor of Literature degree.

Known as "Nadedaduva Devaru" or "God who walks," Swamiji's graceful humility and blissful simplicity were evident to all who met him. He was an institution in himself, dedicated to the cause.

Dr. Bheemanna Khandre

Shri Ma.Gha.Cha.Dr.Channabasava Pattaddevaru

Founder President of SVE Society, Bhalki, Dr. Bheemanna Khandre, is a freedom fighter, educationist, veteron politician and co-operative movement leader. He is a true disciple of his Guru, Pattadevaru Swamiji and has played a dynamic role in the formation of SVE Society.

Under his dynamic leadership, SVE Society has grown from strength to strength and has spread over vast areas, providing multidimensional education. He was a member of both the houses of Legislature of Karnataka and also served as Minister for Transport in Govt. of Karnataka.

He is the founder of two sugar factories under co-operative sector and has started a number of other ventures. Also he was the President of Akhil Bharat Veerashaiva Mahasabha and still leads from the front for the cause of poor and donwtrodden.

He has been honoured "Suvarna Karnataka Rajyotsava Award" by Govt. of Karnataka. Recognizing his yeomen services to the society, Gulbarga University, Gulbarga conferred Honorary degree of Doctor of Law (Honoris Causa) on him. A leader known for his discipline, courage, character and fighting spirit for the cause and he is popularly called as "Lok Nayak".